Wiimmfi logo

Wiimmfi Changelog

Tuesday, January 17th, 2017

New MKW status page:
A complete new MKW status table about players currently online is now available. It is based on the information collected by the new server SV. ⇒ Details

The old status page is available as mkw0.

Wednesday, December 28th, 2016

False rumours about discontinuation:
Some people seem to have received a bogus RiiConnect24 announcement message claiming that Wiimmfi would be discontinued in January 2017. That is not the case. Some guy thought it would be funny to edit a message created by Mario Kart to make it look like an announcement letter and has sent that to a few people.

Tuesday, October 27th, 2016

Dual login (NDS and Wii):
Wiimmfi suports now »Dual login«. This feature allows, that NDS and Wii users can connect to the same game at the same time. The first supported game is FFCC :Echoes of Time.

Friday, October 21th, 2016, 14:00 UTC

Update of host server:
On Friday, October 21th, 2016, the Linux system of the host have been updated. Therefore, Wiimmfi had to go offline for about 1 hour.

Sunday, July 17th, 2016

Competition service server change:
The Mario Kart Wii competition service will be moved to another server, so the competition page will be down sometimes. This neither has influence on the Wiimmfi server itself nor on the in-game competition rankings, only the competition web page will sometimes be unreachable and the competition patcher might not work correctly.

Tuesday, May 10th, 2016

Wiimmfi anniversary:
Wiimmfi was available for the public as May 10, 2014, ten days before Nintendo shot down their servers. At May 20, the shut down day, 23 games were enabled for playing and testing. See game history for details.

At the moment Wiimmfi supports more than 80 games. See list of all games for details.

First competition:
We finally got competitions to work on Wiimmfi!

To find out how to patch your Wii for the Wiimmfi competitions, click here: Wiimmfi MKWii competition service

March 2016

SAKE & RACE:
The SAKE and RACE servers was started and improved in many steps. Both manage ranking lists, ghosts and other objects, that are exchanged by the games.

Wednesday, December 30, 2015, 9:00 UTC (10:00 CET)

Linux host system:
The linux host system was be updated. A reboot was required and Wiimmfi was offline for hours.

Friday, July 10, 2015, 20:10 UTC (22:10 CEST)

Console activation:
Consoles are activated 7 days after registration now.
To make hackers live more difficult, the console creation process is now split into 2 stages: Registration and 7 days later activation. Without activation no profiles can be created or used. The new error codes 238xx inform about the duration until the activation.
More Details.

Saturday, May 9, 2015, 15:30 UTC (17:30 CEST)

Wiimmfi update:
Wiimmfi was stopped for some minutes to update the game management system.

Friday, May 1 2015

NDS support:
With a little teamwork, we have eliminated the last issues of NDS logon. We used Mario Kart DS  for testing and it works without any issues. 3 more DS games are enabled for testing. Visit the server status page for a game list.
Second Amnesty:
The new ban systems runs now nearly 6 months. Since beginning the moderator did 2320 bans. In December 2014, I disabled the old ban system with the consequence of a first Amnesty. And now I decided to deactivate all 139 bans from 2014 as second Amnesty.

The reasons are very simple: I believe that every human being and especially young people must have more than one chance, and also at Wiimmfi.

Sunday, April 19, 2015, 10:00 UTC (12:00 CEST)

Limited profile creation:
To prevent excessive console and profile creations, Wiimmfi limits them and will throw error messages 911 "Profile creation denied" or 913 "Console creation denied". The limits (number and time) are calculated by different facts. The time limit is between 6h and 36h. For Wiimmfi-connected consoles, the limits are nicer.
5431 profiles disabled:
All profiles of 3 consoles are disabled now, each console with more than 500 profiles. This is definitely a abuse using. There are about 40 more candidates with 100–368 profiles.

Wednesday, April 8, 2015, 15:30 UTC (17:30 CEST)

Wiimmfi restart:
Wiimmfi have run since December 2014 without interruption (only MASTER was updated 2 times and NATNEG once). So the server was stopped for analytic reasons and small updates.

Friday, Februar 6, 2015, 20:40 UTC (21:40 CET)

MASTER+NATNEG:
New versions of both servers started silently without stopping Wiimmfi.

Tuesday, December 30, 2014, 16:30 UTC (17:30 CET)

Wiimmfi:
Wiimmfi servers updated.

Saturday, December 06, 2014, 20:00 UTC (21:00 CET)

Ban system:
Wiimmfi tries to detect MAC changer and ban people who reaches the critical number of different MACs.

New is, that only MACs used in the last 42 days are counted; older MACs are forgotten now. And this is a kind of automatic unban.

Saturday, November 15, 2014, 16:30 UTC (17:30 CET)

Ban System (experimental):
The ban moderators can now ban temporary and permanent. A public list of active bans is planned, but not implemented yet.
Virtual Worlds:
The server supports now virtual worlds for Mario Kart Wii distributions if playing regional/continental. The new worlds are activated for regions ≥60.

The problem was, that players without the correct distribution could enter private regions using the friend list.

Sunday, November 9, 2014, 16:30 UTC (17:30 CET)

Host system:
The linux host system was updated and rebooted.

Sunday, November 2, 2014, 16:30 UTC (17:30 CET)

Database update:
The database was updated to support another console identification concept. Therefore the old tables were converted.
Wiimmfi update:
It is now possible to activate old profiles of all games. This replaces the old Web formula and the PID tool for people with a Wiimmfi account.

Saturday, October 25, 2014, 15:30 UTC (17:30 CEST)

Wiimmfi:
Users can now edit identification strings for their consoles and profiles. It is also possible to hide profiles from standard views.

Friday, October 3, 2014, 15:30 UTC (17:30 CEST)

Wiimmfi:
Wiimmfi web page was updated. it supports now auto register and login. Database tables were also expanded to support the new features.
GPCM:
Advanced support for OPENHOST. Changes at the webpage are active immediately.
NATNEG:
NATNEG waits now 10ms between sending INIT_ACK and CONNECT packets. Same for both PREINIT_ACK packets. This should solve some rare time issues.

Sunday, September 21, 2014, 15:30 UTC (17:30 CEST)

GPCM:
The GPCM server supports now the new OPENHOST feature.

Sunday, August 24, 2014, 15:40 UTC (17:40 CEST)

MASTER:
The MASTER server was optimized. New is an internal cache about all online clients. It is a mirror of some profile table members and all gameplay table members. The main effect of the cache is, that the tables are now only updated, if something changed. A first analysis tells us, that 90% of the database queries are saved now and that the MASTER may handle about 10 000 clients.
GPCM+MASTER:
GPCM sends now login and logout records to MASTER to support its cache handling.

Friday, August 15, 2014, 15:45 UTC (17:45 CEST)

GPCM:
Bug fixed: If A is friend of B, but B not friend of A, they used a different protocol for matchmaking. This special case was not handled before update.
MS:
The encrypter for MS replies is now integrated as subprocess.

Sunday, August 10, 2014, 16:00 UTC (18:00 CEST)

Wiimmfi:
Wiimmfi moved to a new server hardware.

Wednesday, August 6, 2014, 16:00 UTC (18:00 CEST)

MS:
I created a new MS server to fix some problems, if the connection was broken during operation. Sometime, a MS task becomes a zombie (dead process).

Saturday, July 5, 2014, 15:30 UTC (17:30 CEST)

MASTER:
The MASTER server is now implemented as single thread tool in C (multi process netcat/PHP before). It is fast enough to handle the UDP packets of more than 20000 clients.

The new MASTER needs much less resources (one thread, <6 MB RSS). But the main advantage is, that no more packets are lost and that the generic game table members are now handled much better (no issues known).

Login Statistics & MAC changer:
The login statistics to detect the abuse using of Wii identifiers were changed and reset with this update. So people, who had accidental used a MAC changer, have now a second chance to use Wiimmfi. Best is to avoid cheats and to deactivate all tricky tools, because if the system detects this kind of manipulation it bans you automatically.

Wednesday, June 25, 2014, 15:35 UTC (17:35 CEST)

MASTER:
Split incoming data into multiple packets. This repairs a PHP issue, that combines multiple packets into one data packet. This issue was also a problem for the generic MS table expansion.
MASTER:
If a "name=value" pair is send twice with the same name, the first value is used to fill the MS table. Before the later one overrode the previous values. This fix a problem of We love Golf.
MASTER:
Wait a few seconds for more incoming packets before closing the thread. This is an optimization (less threads and lower chance to lost a packet, that arrives while closing).
NATNEG:
Micro sleep between packets to the same client added (send ACK; sleep; send CONNECT).
GPCM:
Different small changes.

Friday, June 13, 2014, 15:55 UTC (17:55 CEST)

GPCM:
Interprocess communication improved again for both models. After login, the own status is pushed to the friends and (that's new) the status of friends is polled; both use the UNIX sockets.
MASTER & MS:
Minor fixes for the generic database creation (MASTER and MS servers).
Game support:
Some more games are enabled for the new status delivery to friends without database support of friend lists:
  • Animal Crossing Wii
  • Mario Kart Wii
  • Winning Eleven PLAY MAKER 2010 Japan Challenge
Game PES:
More PES variants are full supported now. Thanks to Datschge, who manages the complete PES stuff.

Tuesday, June 10, 2014, 9:15 UTC (11:15 CEST)

NATNEG:
The new NATNEG server supports now PRE-INIT+ACK (NATNEG types 0x0f and 0x10).

Sunday, June 08, 2014, 15:30 UTC (17:30 CEST)

DLS1:
The DLS1 server is now running at Wiimmfi. Thanks to Ciapa, who implemented it at the beginning.
MASTER & MS:
Minor changes at MASTER and MS servers.
Game support:
Full support of GTI Club Supermini Festa. The game needs only a simple configuration file.

Saturday, June 7, 2014, 15:30 UTC (17:30 CEST)

GPCM:
Interprocess communication improved again.
Friend lists:
New kind of friend list management without database support:
  • The problem of the old system: If a player connected the first time to the new server after as databse reset, other people don't see him until they reconnect to WFC. This is solved by the new system.
  • The new system can be enabled game by game.
  • At the moment it is only enabled for MKWii. It works, because MKWii sends always the complete friend list on logon.
  • Server GPSP supports now the new kind of friend list management. The only DB lookup is a search in the retrieved and created friend-nick tables.
NAS/PR:
Database supported reply of NAS/PR (prwords*=value). This may enable Fortune Street.
MS:
Better handling of capitals in game names and MS database members. PES may work better now.
GPCM:
Unusual server side keep alive to support SSBB.
GPSP:
Server GPSP supports now the command others (before only otherslist).
DLS1:
The DLS1 server domain is now a game dependent setting. So external servers can be supported.

Wednesday, June 4, 2014, 15:30 UTC (17:30 CEST)

GPCM:
The GPCM server uses now UNIX sockets to send client messages. This makes the communication much faster. A good example is the connection time when entering a MKWii room.

Saturday, May 31, 2014, 15:30 UTC (17:30 CEST)

Ban system:
Database log of consoles. This is needed for the comming ban system.
Database:
Reset of learned consoles and profiles due to the new database layout. No profile ID is forgotten and the new lists are created automatically with the first login.
Statistics:
Improved Wiimmfi statistics.
Statistics:
First implementation of game dependent online statistics. Now it's time to search usefull information.
Message transport:
Preparation of a faster message transport (client → server → client) using UNIX sockets. Will be activated after more tests.
Game support:
Bug fix for Trackmania (wrong variable list). Please test again.
Game support:
First support of game Fortune Street. A special login procedure have been implemented for it. Please test.

Saturday, May 24, 2014, 11:00 UTC (13:00 CEST)

Process management:
Process management changed.
Old profiles:
Bug fix for people, who had registered their old FC, but get an 60000 error code. To fix this, I have removed the previous learned profiles.
NATNEG:
Server NATNEG> will support more protocol types and hopefully more games.
Game support:
Next test round for Pro Evolution Soccer.
Game support:
Bug fix for Pokemon Battle Revolution (wrong database setup). It seems, that the game works now.